Home / Auctions / South Dakota / Pennington County / Not yet announced (third Monday of December, but each year's sale requires Board authorization -- skipped in 2023)

Pennington County, South Dakota Tax Sale

Pennington County, South Dakota has not yet announced its next tax sale date -- the most recent cycle has closed and the next one has not opened.

Get alerted about Pennington County, South Dakota tax sales

We'll email you when the next Pennington County sale date is confirmed or changed, and when the delinquent property list is published. Free. No credit card. No account to create.

Date and deadline notifications only — schedule changes, registration windows, and list publication, with the official county source linked. Not investment advice, and we make no claim about what any property or certificate is worth. Unsubscribe anytime.

StatusNot yet announced
Next possible dateNot yet announced (third Monday of December, but each year's sale requires Board authorization -- skipped in 2023)
Property listPosted by official source (see link below)
Sale typeTax lien certificate
PlatformPennington County Treasurer (in-person, County Administration Building)
Last verified2026-07-15

Pennington County at a glance

Median home value
$247,800
US Census ACS
Median gross rent
$996/mo
US Census ACS
Vacancy rate
9.9%
69.2% owner-occupied
Population
110,386
+2.1% over 5 years
Median real-estate taxes
$2,916/yr
US Census ACS

Figures above are drawn from TaxLienSimple's tracked inventory, the county competition model and US Census ACS data; see how we verify.

This is one tracked sale cycle. For Pennington County's recurring cadence, platform, legal structure, and other tracked cycles, see the Pennington County tax sale hub.

What this page shows: Pennington County's official platform has not yet announced the next sale — this year's cycle has closed and next year's hasn't opened. We're showing the typical season based on historical pattern, not a confirmed date. Always confirm directly with the official source below before making plans.

Next sale (not yet announced): Not yet announced (third Monday of December, but each year's sale requires Board authorization -- skipped in 2023)

Time: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM (statutory) when a sale is held.

Get alerted the moment Pennington County confirms its next date

We re-check Pennington County's official source continuously. Watch this auction and we'll email you the day its next date is posted — plus reminders as the sale approaches.

Property list

Sale type
lien
Auction platform
Pennington County Treasurer (in-person, County Administration Building)
Bidding method
Public sale, lowest-interest-rate-wins (bid down from 10%). Retail investors can participate -- BUT the Treasurer may only hold the sale if authorized by the Board of Commissioners each year (no sale in 2023; held in 2024).
Statutory maximum rate
10% per annum maximum (SDCL 10-23-8)
Redemption period
Owner may redeem until a deed issues; ~3-4 years minimum before a deed (SDCL Ch. 10-24/10-25).
Deposit requirement
Certified funds required; specific deposit amount not stated by the official source.

Registration deadline

Not stated by the official source -- call the Treasurer, (605) 394-2163.

Statutory basis

SDCL Ch. 10-23/10-24/10-25

The county Treasurer offers tax certificates at public sale on the third Monday of December (bid down from a 10% max); the county takes the certificate only if no private buyer bids. ~3-4 year redemption. Some counties hold the sale only when the Board authorizes it.

Sources — verified 2026-07-15

Pennington County tax sale — FAQ

When is the next Pennington County, South Dakota tax sale?

Pennington County, South Dakota has not yet announced its next sale date — this cycle has closed and the next hasn't opened. Watch this auction to be emailed the moment the date is confirmed.

What platform does the Pennington County tax sale use?

Pennington County, South Dakota runs its lien sale via Pennington County Treasurer (in-person, County Administration Building). Public sale, lowest-interest-rate-wins (bid down from 10%). Retail investors can participate -- BUT the Treasurer may only hold the sale if authorized by the Board of Commissioners each year (no sale in 2023; held in 2024).

What is the redemption period and rate in Pennington County, South Dakota?

Owner may redeem until a deed issues; ~3-4 years minimum before a deed (SDCL Ch. 10-24/10-25). Rate/premium: 10% per annum maximum (SDCL 10-23-8)

Also free

The material most people charge for, free: TaxLienSimple Academy

60 short lessons across 9 modules — tax distress fundamentals, liens, deeds, foreclosures, state guides and topic guides — each with a full written transcript. Watch it all right now without giving us anything: no credit card, no account, no unlock step.

Not sure where to start in 60 lessons? Leave your email and we'll send the three to watch first, in order.

Educational lessons only. Not legal, tax, title, appraisal, or investment advice, and we make no claim about what any property or certificate is worth. Unsubscribe in one click from any email.